Spurs dominant in winning NBA championship

The NBA champion San Antonio Spurs. Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

The San Antonio Spurs defeated the Miami Heat 104-87 Sunday night to win the NBA championship. For the Spurs it’s their fifth championship in the last 15 years, avenging last year’s loss in the Finals to Heat in seven games after they squandered a three games to two lead.

“We wanted to redeem ourselves,” said point guard Tony Parker, who scored 16 points Sunday. “I’m just glad we were able to do that.”

Small forward Kawhi Leonard totaled 22 points and 10 rebounds in the Game 5 victory and was named MVP. Leonard led the Spurs in scoring the final three games of the series, shot 57.9 percent from three-point range and played stifling defense on Miami’s LeBron James.

The Spurs overcame an early 16-point deficit on Sunday and routed the Heat for the fourth time in the series.

The Spurs outscored the Heat by a Finals-record 14 points per game.