Pro Football HOF announces finalists

(SportsData) – The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced its list of 15 modern-era finalists on Friday morning. Four first-time eligible nominees made the cut: defensive linemen Michael Strahan and Warren Sapp as well as offensive linemen Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen.

Joining them on the final ballot will be eight other modern-era players, a coach, two contributors and two senior nominees (Curley Culp and Dave Robinson) that were announced last August.

The other modern-era players on the ballot are Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Will Shields and Aeneas Williams. They are joined by Art Modell, Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Bill Parcells.

The Hall of Fame selection committee will meet again in New Orleans, La., site of this year’s Super Bowl, on Feb. 2 to elect the 2013 Hall of Fame class from among the finalists. To gain induction, a person needs 80 percent approval by the selection committee. Between four and seven new members will be announced at 5:30 p.m. ET. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.

The 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony will take place in Canton, Ohio on Aug. 3.


Copyright 2013 by SportsData